Posted by: benny747 | April 25, 2010

Miyazaki View

Miyazaki has a nice city. It’s clean, has good transport and the people are friendly. All of my posts sound negative, but i cant escape the fact that Miyazaki is just boring. The teenagers sit in the train station, in silence. All the bars seem to be closed, and the shopping street is near empty. I’m sure people do have fun, but i cant find where they do it. I have always wanted to visit miyazaki city, as everybody has something good to say about it. From a tourists point of view, i was slightly disappointed. The attractions that were listed were in fact probably as dull as Kanoya. Actually, Miyazaki claimed some of the attractions from Kanoya. So if you wanted to get the train for 2 hours and then a bus  (Or bike for a day). You can see the rose garden…..Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!

I woke up the next day, I had a day off in Miyazaki, and I was wondering whether to just forget it and have a day off somewhere else. I wondered down the main street, overnight Miyazaki had transformed. The city had a new feeling from when I arrived yesterday evening. I walked down the main street, about 15 BBQ’s were dotted all the way down. They were selling squid, chicken, and deep-fried shark. While chomping on a shark nugget (It’s pretty bad) I continued to walk around the city. Everybody was now so happy, the sun was shining, and couples walked around eating ice creams (Which didn’t make me feel lonely at all) . My view on miyazaki changed, and I would definitely come here again. At night the city is  sad, its lonely and the city goes to sleep. But however, THEY HAVE KFC! and fried chicken was company in the lonely hours. Also, it was good to be back with the foreign community. I met a guy from New Zealand, he had been placed here to teach, it was his 2nd week. I started speaking to him in KFC and he told me how hed not really spoke to anybody in 2 weeks and was thinking of going home. We went out for a few beers. It was good to have some company. Japan can be a very lonely place. Some company s place you in places that nobody ever goes to. YOur expected to live and work in that place for at least 1 year. You can go through the year not meeting anybody, a year alone. It sounds like hell to me! We said our drunken goodbyes and I woke up the following morning with an amazing hangover.

I soon realised that passing judgement on a city, when trying to find a hotel, with a broken knee, carrying a large bag, while hungry was unfair.

Miyazaki is a nice place, but there isn’t much to do, but im happy I have seen it. I had a great time.


Leave a comment

Categories