Posted by: benny747 | March 26, 2010

Opening Idea

Charity Note: I have recently lost 2 close relatives to cancer. I have decided to dedicate my journey to those relatives and complete this trip for Cancer Research UK.  I don’t know how much difference a 20-year-old boy in a foreign country can make, but I want to try to do everything I can.  I had planned hotels and hostels along the route. I decided that this was expensive. So I canceled most and decided for every night I don’t use a hotel or hostel and camp instead, I will donate money to Cancer Research. I will be completely honest. The amount of money I am raising is small. However, if not even half the people in the world raised as much money as me, cancer research would have all the funding it would ever need.

Feel free to donate and sponsor me for cancer research through my JustGiving Page.


This is a personal blog created for the purpose of recording my 3000 mile journey for Cancer Research UK. I will upload photos, experiences and thoughts along the way so that I can look back in years to come. Unless they take it off the internet, then well….I cant…

My name is Ben Facer and im 20 years old. I’ve never really been interested in bicycles, so naturally I plan to ride one from Cape Sata to Cape Soya – in short, from the bottom of Japan to the top.  Beginning April 16th,  I will ride 3000 miles through Kyushu, Shikoku, Honshu and then finally Hokkaido in 45 days.

If you divide the amount of miles by the days you’ll come to the same conclusion that I did: Pedal fast!

Well im going to try at least….

You will find very little greenery in most Japanese cities,true. But urban cores are exciting, crowded, jaded, but they are also the most Westernized, standardized stretches of the nation. Another Japan exists a half-step away, along the back roads, in the provincial capitals, on the outer edges – Will Ferguson – Hitching Rides With Buddha

This marks the most northern point of Hokkaido. It is hopefully where I end up!


Leave a comment

Categories